Visit the website - Theatre Puget Sound website

Events by TPS :: Gregory A. Falls Award Ceremony :: 2008 Recipient

 2008 Gregory A. Falls Sustained Achievement Award Reception

 Date: May 19, 2008
 Time: 5:30pm – 7:00pm
 Location: Alki Northwest Room, Seattle Center

 Information:  Admission is $35
 Reservations required; please call Theatre Puget Sound at 206.770.0370

Theatre Puget Sound Proudly Honors  
Robin Lynn Smith as the 2008 11th Anniversary Recipient of the Gregory A. Falls Sustained Achievement Award

Robin Lynn Smith has been announced as the recipient of the 2008 Gregory A. Falls Sustained Achievement Award, presented by Theatre Puget Sound (TPS). This award honors an individual who has devoted time, energy and talent to Seattle’s theatre community, and whose career has had an influence on theatre locally and beyond.

TPS will honor Ms. Smith at a reception on Monday, May 19, 2008 in the Alki Room, Seattle Center. The public is invited to attend. Admission is $35 per person and reservations can be made by calling (206) 770-0370. Additional information on Greg Falls and the Falls Award is available at .

This year, TPS celebrates the 11th anniversary of the Gregory A. Falls Sustained Achievement Award, as well as its 10th anniversary year as the region’s premier arts service organization. The award was initiated in 1997 through a generous donation by Jean Falls to honor the memory of Seattle theatre visionary Gregory Falls, a former chair of the UW School of Drama who is credited with creating Seattle's vibrant theater scene. More than any other individual, Falls was "most responsible for the theater boom in this town," says Arne Zaslove, former artistic director of the Bathhouse Theatre at Green Lake. “He was the impresario of bringing it all together.” Falls founded one of Seattle's mainstays, ACT—A Contemporary Theatre, more than three decades ago. He was ACT's artistic director for 23 years until his retirement in 1987.

Theatre Puget Sound is proud to honor the legacy of Mr. Falls through the nomination of Robin Lynn Smith. The Falls nomination committee, composed of Jean Falls, past award recipients and TPS Board members, felt compelled to recognize the lifetime achievement of director and educator, Robin Lynn Smith. Her work creating and sustaining community honors the collaborative nature of theatre and its impact on the Seattle arts scene.

Robin Lynn Smith

Robin Lynn Smith is a Founding Partner and Artistic Director for Freehold Studio/Theatre Lab in Seattle. She has worked for the past 25 years acting, directing and teaching in Chicago, Boston, Seattle, and New York. She has directed Off Broadway - CURSE OF THE STARVING CLASS at the Promenade Theatre, in Regional Theatres, and is presently directing Freehold’s Engaged Theatre Program which tours Shakespeare productions to prisons, projects, and tent cities. She served as an Artist in Residence with Dan Sullivan at the Seattle Repertory Theatre, where she directed several productions including MARVIN’S ROOM, FRANKIE AND JOHNNIE IN THE CLAIRE DE LUNE, CITY OF GOLD, and the developmental workshop of Elizabeth Heffon’s NEW PATAGONIA. She has also directed in Seattle at The Empty Space, New City Theatre, On The Boards, ACT, Seattle Children’s Theatre, and she is presently an Affiliate Artist with Bartlett Sher at Intiman Theatre. At Freehold she directed the award winning Laboratory Investigation of THE SEAGULL, as well as AN ALTERED LIFE, by Elizabeth Heffron, and classics like Chekhov’s THREE SISTERS, as well as THE WINTER’S TALE, THE MERCHANT OF VENICE, THE TEMPEST, and CYMBELINE. She is the director of Freehold’s annual residency in the development of new work with the inmates of Washington State Women’s Penitentiary. Robin has been a guest director and instructor at New York University’s Graduate Acting Program, the University of Washington’s Professional Actor Training Program, and is presently on the faculty of Cornish College of the Arts. She holds an MFA from New York University Tisch School of the Arts, and a BFA from Boston University. Robin is a member of the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers.

Past Falls Award Recipients
1998 - Marjorie Nelson
1999 - Mac Perkins
2000 - Clayton & Susan Corzatte
2001 - Linda Hartzell
2002 – Melissa Hines
2003 – Rex Carleton
2004 – Susan Trapnell & Kurt Beattie
2005 – Jim Ragland
2006 –Todd Jefferson Moore
2007- Karen Gjelsteen & Ruben Van Kempen

This annual event is sponsored by Theatre Puget Sound (TPS), Jean Falls, and Actors' Equity Association (AEA).

This annual event is sponsored by Theatre Puget Sound (TPS). TPS was founded in 1997 as a trade and service organization to promote the spiritual and economic necessity of theatre to the public and to unify and strengthen the theatre community through programs, resources and services. Theatre Puget Sound serves more than 1,000 theatre artists and organizations within our region. In addition to the Falls Award, TPS sponsors workshops and seminars, regional auditions, manages affordable rehearsal and performance space in the Seattle Center Center House, produces the Seattle Performs Theatre Guide and maintains, and coordinates and promotes events which strengthen our local community such as Live Theatre Week, Free Night of Theater, and the TPS Stage at Bumbershoot.

Our Vision Statement

TPS exists to:
  • nurture a healthy and vibrant theatre community
  • to develop strong ties among the region's theatre professionals
  • to raise visibility of this region's theatre scene at the local, national, and international levels

Return to the Theatre Puget Sound home page Theatre Puget Sound
P.O. Box 19643
Seattle, WA 98109
phone: 206-770-0370
fax: 206.441.7383

copyright © 2006 Theatre Puget Sound
website designed and maintained by Scott Nath